Michael DeFonzo at the Beard House
John Greeley at the Beard House
Billy Oliva at the Beard House
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Oysters
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Clams
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar Shrimp
Delmonico’s > Famous Lobster Newburg and Oysters Diamond Jim Brady
P.J. Clarke’s > Miniature Cadillac Burgers with Smoked Country Bacon and Classic American Cheese
Keens Steakhouse > Roasted Mutton with Mint Accompaniment
‘21’ Club > Signature Steak Diane
Old Fashioneds in the James Beard Dining Room
Special Event

Mad About Mad Men

Don Draper’s brooding gaze and chiseled features aren’t the only appeal of AMC’s hit series Mad Men; after watching this last season, we’re hankering for the indulgent oyster-and-three-martini lunches of yore. Join us at the Beard House for a festive walk-around cocktail party featuring beverages and bites inspired by the show, crafted by historical venues from 1960s-era New York City. Vintage attire encouraged!

*Please note special time.

Michael DeFonzo 
PJ Clarke's, NYC, Las Vegas, Washington D.C., and São Paulo, Brazil

John Greeley
'21' Club, NYC

Sandy Ingber
Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant, NYC

Billy Oliva
Delmonico's, NYC

Bill Rodgers
Keens Steakhouse, NYC

Special Guests: 
Co-Authors Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin
The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook

MENU

  • Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant > Raw Bar with Oysters, Clams, Shrimp Cocktail, and Bloody Mary Oyster Shooters

    • Delmonico’s > Famous Lobster Newburg and Oysters Diamond Jim Brady
    • P.J. Clarke’s > Miniature Cadillac Burgers with Smoked Country Bacon and Classic American Cheese
    • The Classic Waldorf Salad
    • Crispy Parmesan Tater Tots with Sir Kensington Classic Ketchup
    • Keens Steakhouse > Roasted Mutton with Mint Accompaniment
    • ‘21’ Club > Signature Steak Diane
    • Fabulous Rum Balls
    •  
    • Old-Fashioneds
    • Classic Martinis
    • Side Car Cocktails
    • South Side Cocktails
    • French 75 Champagne Cocktails 

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Wed, 09.11.2013
  • 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $100 / General Public $125
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2016

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Splash of Winter Rosé Mon, 02.01.2016
 
Five-Star Winter Elegance Tue, 02.02.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Flavors of Veneto Thu, 02.04.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
San Diego Hot Spot Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Luxurious Kaiseki Sat, 02.06.2016
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
Mardi Gras Mystique Tue, 02.09.2016
 
Feast of the Senses Wed, 02.10.2016
 
Pocono Mountain Retreat Thu, 02.11.2016
 
Southern Social Fri, 02.12.2016
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
 
 
New Orleans Charm Wed, 02.17.2016
 
The Art of the Chef Thu, 02.18.2016
 
Rustic Italian Fri, 02.19.2016
 
Neighborhood Gem Sat, 02.20.2016
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Toast of Montauk Wed, 02.24.2016
 
New-School Italian Thu, 02.25.2016
 
Beetlebung Farm Supper Fri, 02.26.2016
 
 
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
 
Bold Asian Flavor Mon, 02.29.2016
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam