John Gorham and his team at the James Beard House
French Kisses > Foie Gras–Stuffed and Brandy-Soaked Prunes
House-Cured Sopressata with Manchego Crisps and Pickled Onions
Pedro Ximénez Sherry–Glazed Ibérico Skirt Steak with Pimientos de Padrón and Catalan Tomato–Rubbed Bread
Radicchio Salad with Manchego and Green Olive Tapenade
Preparing radicchio salad in the James Beard House kitchen
Grilled Spanish Octopus with Cracked Olives, Preserved Lemon, Oil-Cured Chiles, Capers, and Roasted Garlic
Smoked Coppa Steak with Olive Oil–Poached Fingerling Potatoes and Salbitxada Sauce
John Gorham behind the scenes at the James Beard House
Olive Oil Cake with Roasted Apple Caramel
Dinner

Essence of Spain: Tapas to Sherry

John Gorham

Toro Bravo, Portland, OR

Sommelier Mindy Cook

Toro Bravo, Portland, OR

At Portland’s Toro Bravo, the authentic, Barcelona-inspired tapas menu changes daily and delectable Spanish sherries beckon the discerning palate. Join us at the Beard House to see why John Gorham was recently named Best Chef of the Year by Portland Monthly, and to preview his new Toro Bravo cookbook.

Event photos taken by F. Martin Ramin. 

Related Info:

MENU

  • Hors d’Oeuvre    

    • French Kisses > Foie Gras–Stuffed and Brandy-Soaked Prunes 
    • Salt Cod Fritters with Aïoli 
    • House-Cured Sopressata with Manchego Crisps and Pickled Onions
    • Avinyó Selecció La Ticota Gran Reserva Cava NV
  • Dinner

    • Pedro Ximénez Sherry–Glazed Ibérico Skirt Steak with Pimientos de Padrón and Catalan Tomato–Rubbed Bread
    • Bodegas Hidalgo Wellington Palo Cortado 20-Year-Old V.O.S. Sherry NV
    • Radicchio Salad with Manchego and Green Olive Tapenade
    • Bodegas Hidalgo Manzanilla La Gitana En Rama Sherry NV
    • Grilled Spanish Octopus with Cracked Olives, Preserved Lemon, Oil-Cured Chiles, Capers, and Roasted Garlic
    • Bodegas César Florido Chipiona Palomino Fino Sherry NV
    • Smoked Coppa Steak with Olive Oil–Poached Fingerling Potatoes and Salbitxada Sauce
    • Bodegas El Maestro Sierra 15-Year-Old Oloroso Sherry NV
    • Olive Oil Cake with Roasted Apple Caramel
    • Jorge Ordóñez Victoria #2 Moscatel 2010

Event DetailsReservation Policy >

  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Place:
  • Price:
  • Book:
  • Thu, 09.19.2013
  • 7:00 PM
  • The Beard House map
  • Members $130 / General Public $170
  • 212.627.2308
 
 
 

February 2016

S M T W T F S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
Splash of Winter Rosé Mon, 02.01.2016
 
Five-Star Winter Elegance Tue, 02.02.2016
 
Beard on Books Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Salmon Seduction Wed, 02.03.2016
 
Flavors of Veneto Thu, 02.04.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
San Diego Hot Spot Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Maui, HI Fri, 02.05.2016
 
Luxurious Kaiseki Sat, 02.06.2016
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
Mardi Gras Mystique Tue, 02.09.2016
 
Feast of the Senses Wed, 02.10.2016
 
Pocono Mountain Retreat Thu, 02.11.2016
 
Southern Social Fri, 02.12.2016
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
 
 
New Orleans Charm Wed, 02.17.2016
 
The Art of the Chef Thu, 02.18.2016
 
Rustic Italian Fri, 02.19.2016
 
Neighborhood Gem Sat, 02.20.2016
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
Toast of Montauk Wed, 02.24.2016
 
New-School Italian Thu, 02.25.2016
 
Beetlebung Farm Supper Fri, 02.26.2016
 
 
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
 
Bold Asian Flavor Mon, 02.29.2016
 
 
 
 
 
 
JBF Kitchen Cam